Section 8 Rental Assistance

The Department of Housing and Urban Resources provides local funding which is administered by Washington-Morgan Community Action to provide community rental assistance.  

The housing choice voucher program, commonly known as Section 8, pays a portion of participants' rent each month. This program, overseen by the US Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD), helps low-income, elderly, and disabled people afford rental housing.

To receive Section 8 assistance, certain eligibility requirements must be met. These requirements include income level, family status, and citizenship status. Each year HUD sets income limits determined by family size and based on the median income in the area.

Once Community Action receives a completed application, the household will be placed on the waiting list. A household’s position on the waiting list is determined by which preference points the household is able to verify; preference points and required documentation are explained on the application.

If interested in signing up for the Section 8 Housing Choice Voucher program for Washington County Ohio, please complete the application and return to Washington Morgan Community Action, located at 218 Putnam Street, Marietta, OH 45750. Interested individuals may also contact the office at 740.373.3745 with any questions.

The Section 8 Assistance Application is available here.